Autopatrolled users get three things:
- If they aren't yet autoconfirmed, they don't need to do the CAPTCHA before editing.
- Unlimited edit speed. (Autoconfirmed users can edit once per 30 seconds, others can edit once per 60, assuming you aren't in the vandal bin, when it becomes one edit per 30 minutes regardless of this right.)
- When a sysop is viewing edits (as in Recent Changes or a page history), edits by autopatrolled users will no longer have those pesky little red exclamation marks (!) next to their edits, meaning their edits are probably trustworthy.Do You Believe That? Stop the RED menace!!!