RationalWiki:Technical support

From RationalWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This page is automatically archived by Archivist
Archives for this talk page: <1>, <2>, <3>, <4>, <5>, <6>, <7>, <8>, <9>, <10>, <11>, <12>, <13>, <14>


Autogenerated list of users with Tech rights: Special:ListUsers/tech.

Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it! Fix it!

The people with root on the servers are Tmtoulouse and David Gerard.

If your IP is blocked from editing as an open proxy: you need to go to your provider about it. The lists we use are xbl.spamhaus.org, dnsbl.tornevall.org, all.s5h.net - if your IP is on one of these lists, then your provider has a serious problem they need to resolve. We cannot get your ISP out of the blacklist.


[edit] Herein goeth anything regarding the technicalities of the wiki

FAQs & Problems:

  • Problems with accessing the wiki
  • Queries about extensions
  • Javascript Help
  • CSS Help
  • Wikitalk Help

If you've written, or are using, some extension or script that either might give others problems or is giving you a problem, then either describe it or link to it on this page.

If you've written some piece of code that you want help with, ask here with linkage.

If your browser acts up with some code,ask here.

In short, anything techy, ask, tell or link on this page.

If you think it is a server-type issue, feel free to email the goat at dgerard@gmail.com and David might see it soonish.

[edit] Using other languages and using a logo on a wiki

I have different languages enable on my wiki and it's all working fine, except I'm thinking I'll run into a problem later on when the titles of articles will be the same across those languages. One solution would be to put something in parentheses to indicate what language the article is in, which will work okay, but I'm just wondering if there's another way. I noticed when I clicked on your Russian translation of your main page that it has the prefix ru. How do you enable that option? Also, how do you put a logo up in the left-hand corner of the page? (talk) 18:12, 24 July 2016 (UTC)

Well Mediawiki has a page on multilingual preferences.--Owlman (talk) (mail) 20:38, 24 July 2016 (UTC) 20:38, 24 July 2016 (UTC)
I'll check it out. I noticed another thing: RationalWiki doesn't have a www prefix on its main page and mine does. Will that affect the way it works for me? (talk) 21:15, 24 July 2016 (UTC)
I got my logo up now. The languages are working fine, I just put a little something in parentheses after the name of the article so I don't fill up too many slots. For some reason I'm liking the idea of having it all centralized, which is great, but the one thing I wish I could fix is having a different sidebar for every language. In other words, the list of languages shows up on the options in the sidebar, but I'm trying to figure out how to make everything above that be in the language that is selected. I don't even know if it's possible to do that if it's all centralized the way I have it. (talk) 01:41, 28 July 2016 (UTC)

[edit] Election Endorsements Rejected

Feeling very emotional and insecure here. I have tried to endorse candidates in the RW election, but all my attempts have been rejected as harmful. I've sniffed my armpits and huffed into the palm of my hand to check my breath. I wiped well this morning and even bathed. I just can't fathom the rejection. Surely you must be doing something wrong. Any tips (asked the leper of his best friend)?— Unsigned, by: Epsilon3 / talk / contribs

What do you mean by "have been rejected as harmful"?--JorisEnter (talk) 13:24, 27 July 2016 (UTC)
Hah. You gotta wipe 'til you see bright red on the paper, sonny! Reverend Black Percy (talk) 13:28, 27 July 2016 (UTC)

It won't let me reply in this page, either.— Unsigned, by: Epsilon3 / talk / contribs

On talk pages, please sign your comments using four tildes (~~~~) or by clicking on the sign button: SigButt.png on the toolbar above the edit panel. (You can indent successive talk page comments using one more colon (:) for each line.) Thank you. The edit filter marked your edits as spam for some reason. I think I've fixed it now.--JorisEnter (talk) 18:23, 27 July 2016 (UTC)

[edit] Default time for reference tooltip

It's currently 200ms. I'd bet most visitors don't know that reference tooltips exist (go to any article and hover over a reference) and so are less likely to look at our sources -- which in turn makes it seem like RW just puts a source there to look legitimate without being legitimate. I think the default time should be changed to 0ms, so that mousing over any reference immediately pull up the source.

Fuzzy "Cat" Potato, Jr. (talk/stalk) 14:42, 27 July 2016 (UTC)

Why the hell not. They only work when gadgets are enabled though - and those don't work half the time.--JorisEnter (talk) 15:30, 27 July 2016 (UTC)
We could try that, sure. Reverend Black Percy (talk) 11:40, 28 July 2016 (UTC)

[edit] Hey, new stuff!

So, I've just noticed two novelties since Trent implemented the so-called hardware upgrades this last Saturday...

First of all — references placed before navs work now! They used to be broken in the previous version, but now that's fixed! Thanks a million, Trent! Th hug.gif

And secondly — when browsing articles on my Android phone, the site now offers to "make mobile friendly". A new feature (for this site, that is). Although this new "mobile friendly" display mode does appear to break cquotes, it's still a wonderful addition.

If there is an official changelog tucked away somewhere, as a RationalMedia foundation board member, I'd wager that to be exactly among the type of things we probably ought to announce to the community; to show we're still working on things (duh) and also as an example of the donated funds materializing into something extra tangible, and so on...

I suppose that no such actual "changelog" will be posted by Trent, so just to still my own curiosity, I'm asking — anyone privy to any other changes and improvements brought on this last saturday (hardware as well as software)? All the best, Reverend Black Percy (talk) 09:36, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

References and navs don't collide with each other anymore? Whoa. *starts playing Handel's Hallelujah Chorus*--JorisEnter (talk) 09:41, 22 August 2016 (UTC)
See for yourself! (Upper right). 'Tis a blessing on the land, it is! Reverend Black Percy (talk) 09:58, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

For me, refs before navs don't work. In Confederate States of America, reference 1 is the Bouie quote. Herr FuzzyKatzenPotato (talk/stalk) 13:14, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

Same here. Might be because gadgets are down again (and as such also the tooltips), but we'll see.--JorisEnter (talk) 13:16, 22 August 2016 (UTC)
Appear to works fine for me, both on my PC (Pale Moon) and my phone (Chrome). Ref 1 and ref 2 work as intended, and I can skip back and forth between them with ease and correctness. I'm also running no gadgets at all, for the record. Reverend Black Percy (talk) 14:01, 22 August 2016 (UTC)
Multiple servers? Sir ℱ℧ℤℤϒℂᗩℑᑭƠℑᗩℑƠ (talk/stalk) 15:31, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

This would be caused by "fucking magic", considering the change was (1) reboot the servers so they can see the increased memory (2) there's no step 2 - David Gerard (talk) 15:49, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

What the Reverend Black Percy (talk) 15:52, 22 August 2016 (UTC)

[edit] Gadgets

Hey everyone, I'm really new here. so if this sounds ignorant please excuse me. Where did the gadgets in preferences go? I seem to remember having wikEd (among other things) recently and now they're gone. Thanks, Andralker (talk) 07:49, 29 August 2016 (UTC)

Well for some reason the gadgets flip on and off at random. They were still up yesterday but today they don't seem to work anymore. This has been going on for the past few months at least, so it's a pretty well known issue (that still has not been fixed for some reason).--JorisEnter (talk) 07:52, 29 August 2016 (UTC)
As a board member, I'm starting to think that we might have to push upgrading and sorting the softare to top priority... Reverend Black Percy (talk) 12:04, 29 August 2016 (UTC)
Also, it loads pages in half (when I was reading Canada, it only loaded the page title and infobox) and after I purge the page it promptly logs me out. Andralker (talk) 14:09, 29 August 2016 (UTC)
What device were you on? OS, browser? What type of internet connection? Reverend Black Percy (talk) 07:32, 30 August 2016 (UTC)
Personal tools